The D.R.

We had the most incredible trip, so different from the way we used to travel.  Gone are the days of staying up until dawn while exploring a new city by moonlight and bottles of wine. Gone are the days of sleeping in and ordering room service as we lay in bed soaking up the foreign morning light. In its place; afternoon walks with Jack in the ergo while he naps, his hair damp and rife with curl in the humidity, days spent playing on the beach, eating dinner early before restaurants become too crowded, then walking back to the hotel and hearing Jack say the word “star” for the first time. We spent so much time exploring, as only being with a child impels you to explore, slowly and so thoroughly. Any thoughts of a sight-seeing checklist were scratched to accommodate the pace of a child who could spend a year exploring a single stretch of beach.

I think these days, in years to come when I look back, will be remembered as the best days. Not because they are easy or glamorous but because they are so filled with purpose and love. I used to spend a great deal of time concerned over if I was accomplishing “enough” or doing “enough” in a very abstract way. These days there are fewer quandaries  and so much more peace. I am raising my son and creating my family and that for now is more than enough, it is perfection. I love the way our lives have changed.

_MG_0297

_MG_0320

_MG_0326

_MG_0345

_MG_0448

_MG_0406

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Phil Lynch

     /  February 28, 2013

    Love your writing. Love you are so devoted to building and nurturing your family. Love this. Thanks for sharing with us

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply
  2. i love all these photos and, especially, your words. miss you!! xo

    Reply
  3. Such wonderful words. And much needed. I keep getting myself caught up in what I think I am supposed to be doing rather than what I want to be doing. The stress of money and status nip at my heels and instead of kicking back sometimes I let them trip me up. thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

